State of the State: North Dakota


NDASFAA held its 2019 Spring Conference at the Woodland Resort in Devils Lake on April 3 – 5.  The conference theme was “Opening the Door of Opportunity”.  The Woodland Resort provided a great venue with beautiful scenery.  As always, the conference was a great opportunity to network with colleagues, catch up with friends, and learn valuable knowledge from great sessions.

We were honored to have Rick Renshaw, FSA Training Officer from the Department of Education, join us to present on several topics including a Federal Update, Overawards & Overpayments, and Professional Judgment.  Rick was present for all of the conference sessions and was able to offer invaluable advice and insight on other topics as well.


We were also fortunate to have Ken Kocer, RMASFAA Past-President, attend and provide the group with a RMASFAA Update.  Ken thanked NDASFAA for its presence on RMASFAA committees and encouraged members to participate in events such as Summer Institute and Leadership Pipeline.  He also participated in a conference session as a member of the “Challenges in the FA Office” panel.

Other valuable conference session topics included; Having Fun in the FA Office, ND State Aid updates, How America Values and Pays for College, and Exploring Poverty Mind Sets.

This year’s recipient of the NDASFAA Philanthropy Project was the Lake Region Community Shelter.  The shelter provides food, temporary housing, and safety and protection for those in the region who need help.  We gained a better understanding of those living in poverty and the obstacles they face in their efforts to rise out of poverty.

At the conference annual business meeting, Karrie Huber, NDASFAA Past-President for the upcoming year, passed the gavel to Chris Meek, NDASFAA President.  During the meeting, each committee gave a summary of projects completed and updates for the upcoming year.  We are looking forward to the possibility of offering NASFAA Professional Credentials at the next fall professional development conference.

NDASFAA selected President-Elect, Marcia Pritchert from Valley City State University and re-elected Bethany Vincent from North Dakota State University as Treasurer.


On our closing evening together, the awards banquet was held to recognize years of service awards and honor our retirees.

The individuals with years of service awards include:

25 years: Shirley Hanson – Mayville State University and Wally Erhardt – BND

15 years: Kristin Ellingson – North Dakota University System

10 years: Megan Kragness – Rasmussen and Rachel Minske – UND

Retirees Honored:

Char Skjonsby (BND), John Kramer (BND), Wally Erhardt (BND), Sandra Brelie (UND)


B GunnBecky Gunn, Lynnes Welding, was awarded the Rookie of the Year award for her dedication to NDASFAA and tireless work on the new website.






NDASFAA is excited to celebrate its 50th Anniversary at the 2020 Spring Conference on April 15th – 17th in Grand Forks, ND.

We wish you the best in the upcoming year!

Chris Meek, Dickinson State University

NDASFAA President

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s