Getting to Know You

Continuing with our new blog series, ‘Getting to Know You’.  Throughout the year we will be getting to know a financial aid colleague from each state in the region a little better. Next up, Colorado!

support-gettingtoknowyoublogimage

Being somewhat new to the Financial Aid world myself, I struggled to come up with someone to interview. I have had few experiences that have allowed me to network with fellow financial aid professionals across the state of Colorado. After some inquiring, my supervisor Sally Schuman suggested Mason Parmenter. Sally had the opportunity to teach Mason at Summer Institute in 2016; his wit and creativity made him a memorable student in the class.

-Emily Sams, Association News Committee

 

Mason is a Financial Aid Advisor at Community College of Aurora. He earned his associates degree at CCA and then moved on to earn his bachelor’s from the University of Colorado Denver in 2008.

Mason_RMASFAA Blog

What is your background and how did you get into financial aid?

My background is in film, video and music production. I started in higher education as a work-study in January 2001, and then moved over to Financial Aid in 2006.

What is the weirdest job you have ever had?

I’ve had some pretty mundane jobs, however I have seen and heard a lot of weird stuff while working in financial aid…

What do you do for fun?

For fun, I like dogs, camping, hiking and my pet ducks.

Favorite line from a movie?

From Goodfellas: “Never rat on your friends and keep your mouth shut.”

Do you have a secret talent?

I have selective photographic memory.

Do you have any phobias?

I am scared of tornados and viruses.

Can you play any instruments?

I can play a few tunes on the keyboard, but I utilize electronic beat-making mostly.

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

Colorado.

If you were a super-hero, what powers would you have?

Flying and being able to see through lies.

What’s the most unusual thing you’ve ever eaten?

I assume that I have probably eaten spiders in my sleep before.  Never intentionally.

Leave a Reply

