Getting to Know You

Continuing with our new blog series, ‘Getting to Know You’.  Throughout the year we will be getting to know a financial aid colleague from each state in the region a little better. Next up, North Dakota!

support-gettingtoknowyoublogimage

Spotlight on Andrea Carver and Erin Kay. Williston State College’s Financial Aid Superheroes!

“Where the People Make the Difference” is Williston State College’s the official motto. It is embedded in WSC’s official mission statement and is a way of doing business at WSC.

Most financial aid professionals know this profession is not for the faint of heart. It takes dedication, motivation and a lot of patience. It allows us to make a difference in students’ lives, allowing them to focus on what is important and not worry about the financial resources needed to complete their educational goals. We can be the positive difference for a student who is considering withdrawing during their first semester to then persist through graduation.

At WSC, we are a small three-person office, but what we lack in numbers we make up for in enthusiasm and support for our students and for each other. Andrea and Erin are both relatively new to the financial aid world, but they champion their roles every day. They embody the spirit of WSC’s motto, helping students in any way that they can, always going above and beyond what their job descriptions require.

I had the chance to ask them each some fun questions this week, learning a little more about who they are and how they got here. Erin and Andrea will join me at RMASFAA this summer for SI in Golden, CO. If you get a chance, come and say hello and help me welcome them to the RMASFAA community!

FullSizeRender
Andrea (L) Erin (R)

What is your background and how did you get into financial aid?

Erin: I received my Bachelors in Business Administration with an emphasis in Marketing at the University of Nebraska at Kearney where I also played volleyball.  After working in an office for a year, I decided to go back to school to receive my Fire Science Degree from Casper College.  I was then a wildland firefighter for two years where I met my husband.  My husband and I moved around a lot for school and work, with our most recent move to Williston, ND. I knew I wanted to work in a college setting.  When a financial aid position became available at WSC, I was a little leery of applying because I knew there was so much to learn and understand, but I have really enjoyed working with the students and have great colleagues.

Andrea: I have worked in higher education since 1999. I moved to North Dakota and wanted to continue working in a college setting.  There was a financial aid position open at the college, so I applied and got the job!

What’s one thing you couldn’t live without?

Erin: My labrador, Mia.

Andrea: My cell phone. It’s best way to keep up with my family back in North Carolina.

What’s the strangest job you’ve ever had?

Erin: I detasseled corn for a summer in college.

Andrea: Donut decorator at a bakery.

What’s your favorite book?

Erin: I love the Harry Potter series.

What do you do for fun?

Erin: Play volleyball, hike, ride my bike, go camping, and spend time with family.

Andrea: Play with my baby, boating, and fishing.

At which store could you max-out your credit card? 

All at once: Amazon!!!

Favorite line from a movie?

Erin: “By going that one more round when you don’t think you can is what can make all the difference in your life.” ~ Rocky IV

Andrea: “Just Keep Swimming” ~ Finding Nemo

Do you have an office nickname?

Erin: No, thank goodness!

Most embarrassing moment at work? 

Erin: None yet.

Andrea: One day I got chased by a Blue Jay down the student plaza, all the way to my car at the university I used to work at in North Carolina. It was noon, so there were so many students, faculty and staff having their lunch watching me get chased. I was mortified.

If you had to eat one meal, every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?

All at once: Pizza!

What is something on your bucket list?

Erin: To go to a Green Bay Packer football game.

Andrea: Scuba dive the Great Barrier Reef.

Do you have any phobias?

Erin: I had bats in a house I used to rent, so now I do not like bats or anything swooping down at my head!

Andrea: Arachnophobia

What was your favorite toy as a kid?

Erin: My dolls and Barbies.

 

Heather Fink
Association News Committee

Leave a Reply

