Spotlight on New Members!

Spotlight on new members

Please welcome Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA), a non-profit mission-based service provider, as a new associate member to RMASFAA! Sean McGivney, Business Development Advisor, says he hopes to meet everyone at the RMASFAA Conference in Rapid City October 23-26! KHEAA is expanding services nationwide, and Sean is based in the RMASFAA region (Pueblo, CO).

Q: Tell RMASFAA a bit about KHEAA and what your organization has to offer schools and their students.

A: Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority has been around for 50 years. It was a former state guaranty agency for FFELP and is now the Kentucky state grant and scholarship provider, private lender, and provider of financial aid services for colleges, including Cohort Default Management Services and verification (KHEAA Verify).kheaa

Q: What is your professional and/or educational background and how long have you been with KHEAA?

A: I graduated from the University of Vermont! I’ve worked in financial aid for over 20 years at state institutions in Vermont, Tennessee, and Colorado. This is my first year working for KHEAA!

Q: What is your favorite thing about your work?

A: Learning about all of the different schools and how they do everything. There is no one correct way to do anything, it seems sometimes, and so it challenges me to make our services desirable for different scenarios. I’m also learning a lot about colleges for my two daughters, which is a big bonus for our family.

Q: What do you do for fun/hobbies/favorites?

A: I’m a volunteer assistant coach at my daughter’s high school (cross country and soccer). I try to work out every day, I like to cook new recipes, travel, read, I love all kinds of music, and I have a serious addiction to movies. I also know more about the Boston Red Sox than anyone you’ve ever met.

Q: If you could be in a movie or TV series of your choice, what would you choose and what character would you play? Why?

A: Wow, this is really going to make me sound old, but I wish I could have played anyone on the Carol Burnett Show, working with her and Harvey Korman and Tim Conway. I remember watching when I was a kid, how they would make each other laugh and improvise all the time, it just seems like it was always such a great time. It came naturally to them, acting with friends, it never seemed like work. If that doesn’t count, since the show hasn’t existed this century, I’d say I would play any new character on The Simpsons, as long as I get to work in the writer’s room as part of the deal. Dream job.

Q: What would you do in life if you knew you could not fail or what would your dream job be?

A: Dream Job Part II (fantasy version): Professional beach volleyball player!

Q: What is the best gift you have ever been given and why?

A: Easy: my two daughters. It has been another dimension of love that I would never have known otherwise, and it continues to develop every hour of every day.

Be sure to say hi to Sean at RMASFAA and stop by KHEAA’s exhibitor booth!   http://rmasfaa.org/docs/toc_conferences.html

 

Leave a Reply

