Spotlight on New Members!

Spotlight on new members

Please welcome Scott McFarland, Financial Aid Director at Central Wyoming College in Riverton, WY, as a new director and new member to RMASFAA! We also welcome Central Wyoming College back to RMASFAA; they have not been members for at least a decade.

Q: Tell RMASFAA a bit about your background and how you ended up as Director at CWC.

A: I wound up in Financial Aid at CWC in a rather haphazard way. I received my BA in Business Management in Seattle, WA, and worked at the Allstate Regional Claim office there for seven years. My parents gave us a 90-year old farm schoolhouse in my hometown of Riverton, WY, so I moved back and took a year off work to remodel it into our home. When the remodel was complete, I began looking for work, specifically at CWC based on their reputation in the community as an exceptional place of employment. The only position open at the time was a Financial Aid Technician. I applied and was accepted, however, four months later I took the Resident Life Manager position that had opened up. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Financial Aid, but the Resident Life position allowed me to better provide for my family. Less than two years later, the Director of Financial Aid position opened and it was the right opportunity to get back into the Fin Aid world.

 

Scott McFarland
Scott McFarland, Central Wyoming College’s Financial Aid Director, is shown here with his wife, Alyssa.

Q: What are the main differences you see between directing housing and financial aid?

A: One big difference would be the work schedule. In housing I was often on campus late evenings and weekends and was on-call 24/7. So, the schedule is much better now. However, another difference is the level of interaction with the students, which I miss. I am trying to find different ways to incorporate my new position into the paths of students.

Q: What was the worst job you ever had?

A: I honestly haven’t had a job I didn’t enjoy, but the most exhausting job I’ve had would be unloading UPS trucks overnight while in college.

Q: What is your favorite thing about your current work?

A: Easily the people I work with (both colleagues and students).

Q: What do you do for fun/hobbies/favorites?

A: Anything with my children (three boys and expecting another! Gender not yet known…); Playing music; anything outside (sports, boating, hiking, yardwork, etc.); and building/construction.

Q: What is your proudest accomplishment?

A: In high school, I made nationals in a guitar competition, which included an all-expense paid trip to Orlando, FL. I placed in the top five at nationals, winning an $8000 scholarship.

Q: What would you sing at Karaoke night?

A: Hakuna Matata!

Q: If money was no object, what would you do all day?

A: I’d spend half the day with my family, half the day mentoring students.

 

s mcfarland
Scott McFarland shows off his escape route from his office.

 

Scott will be attending RMASFAA’s Summer Institute in Golden, CO June 12-17, so be sure to say hello if you see him there. See if he’ll sing you a few bars of Hakuna Matata!

Leave a Reply

