Dear Diary – January 2016

Introducing a new blog series Dear Diary! In this series you get the chance to follow a first time Summer Institute (SI) Instructor month by month, from deciding to teach all the way through SI. Check back each month for a Dear Diary update.

diary

January 2016

Dear Diary,

Well I’ve finally run out of excuses not to volunteer to be involved with RMASFAA Summer Institute. I’m also getting tired of hearing colleagues say “you should teach”. My supervisor was one of the most supportive of this idea. So I’ve thrown my name in the hat and the offer was quickly accepted. Very quickly.

Still not so sure I should be molding young minds. LOL But after ## years in the profession and being a master of financial aid trivia, it’s about time.

The entire SI staff will be meeting in Denver next month. The theme this year is How to Win at the Financial Aid Game. If I had a choice, Shoots and Ladders might make a good option for the class. Or maybe Wheel of Fortune. Yes, that’s it! I’ll take Verification for $200. I know that as a first-time instructor, I’ll be paired up with someone who has done this before. So mostly I’m excited and maybe 10% apprehensive.

More next month….

Verification Vera

One thought on “Dear Diary – January 2016

  1. Pingback: Keep Calm & Renew Today | RMASFAA Blog

Leave a Reply

