Our Outstanding Committees – Diversity & Multi-Cultural Initiatives

Introducing the Our Outstanding Committees series. Throughout the next 12 weeks you will be introduced to each of RMASFAA’s 12 committees, the committee members and find out all that they accomplished this year. This is week 6 of the series.

I would like to send out a BIG thank-you to my DMCI Committee members who have been very instrumental in helping select scholarship recipients for the Summer Institute 2015 and the RMASFAA Conference 2015.  We had 22 worthy applicants which made the decision a difficult one.  Our number of applicants have been increasing each year.

Last year we were able to make 3 scholarship awards, this year we were able to make 4 awards . . . that’s a Wahoo for our RMASFAA membership!  Four awards may not seem like a lot, but to the recipient’s, it means a world of difference (if you don’t believe me, just check out the blogs for the ones who attended Summer Institute)!

Let’s get the word out to apply for the scholarship next year . . . let’s surpass this year’s numbers . . . who knows, we may be able to increase our scholarship recipient awards if our numbers keep growing!

Summer Institute Scholarship Awards:
Manuel Bernal (Fort Lewis College, CO
Cynthia Montoya (Community College of Aurora, CO)

RMASFAA Conference Scholarship Awards:
Tera Krull (Western Dakota Tech, South Dakota)
Lauren Kang – Community College of Aurora, CO)

Cynthia Montoya
Cynthia Montoya
Lauren Kang
Lauren Kang
Manuel Bernal
Manuel Bernal

DMCI Committee
Eileen Griego – Chair (Colorado State University, CO)
Nicole Casey – Vice Chair (College of Saint Mary, NE)
Christal Williams (Johnson County Community College, KS)
Eleni Beaty (Colorado State University, CO)
Gloria (Glo) Hennig (Concordia University, NE)
Julian Gomez – Scholarship Recipient for 1314/AY (Southeast Community College, NE)
La’Lisa Coley – Scholarship Recipient for 1314/AY (Hutchinson Community College, KS)
Marianne Gurule – Scholarship Recipient for 1314/AY (Fort Lewis College, CO)
Melissa Garrett (Eagle Gate College, UT)
Sheelu Surrender (Wichita State University, KS)

Eileen Griego | Assistant Director-Special Programs
Student Financial Services
Division of Enrollment & Access

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s