Oscar R. ‘Jack’ Hendrix Award Spotlight – Sarah Trausch

My financial aid path began a little earlier in life than most. My father, Randy Sell, took on the Director of Financial Aid role at the University of Nebraska – Omaha (UNO) when I was just 15 years old. Before Dad was the Director of Financial Aid, he was the Manager of the Business Office/Student Accounts (also at UNO) for about 10 years. I remember fondly the times I would visit Dad in his office or go to work with him on a Saturday so that we could go to the HPER Building after he was done working for a few friendly games of racquetball. Many times I would help him work by alphabetizing or sorting paperwork. I guess you could say that I grew up in a university setting. I saw (from a very young age) the highs and lows of financial aid. In college, I would move home during the summers and work in the Admissions Office at UNO. That’s when I first realized my love for Higher Ed and realized that I, too, wanted to pursue a career in Higher Education (as opposed to secondary education – my college major for three years). Upon graduating from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln, I moved through the Admissions setting as a Campus Visit Coordinator (my first business card!) and as an Application Processor – both at UNO.

Sarah caricature

My first job in financial aid was at the EducationQuest Foundation in Omaha where I filed so many FAFSAs for students and their parents that I used to dream about it – I couldn’t close my eyes without seeing a FAFSA form. I started at EducationQuest on a Tuesday and left for Summer Institute the following Saturday. It was a little overwhelming to say the least, but I survived.

3 years later, I started my job at Creighton. I’ve been here a little over 10 years now, and I’m still loving it.

When I first started at Creighton, I became very involved in NeASFAA and then became very involved in RMASFAA a few years later, which is when I won the Oscar R. ‘Jack’ Hendrix Award (in 2011), to my great surprise. Although I’m not currently serving on any committees (at least I don’t think I am), I do plan to become involved again in the near future. I miss spending time with my RMASFAA friends and seeing them on a regular basis. I feel like I’ve formed so many close relationships with colleagues from our great region because I got involved. I feel like RMASFAA is more like an extended family than anything else, and I know my dad felt the same way about so many of you. I’m so honored to be part of such a great University as well as both state and regional associations. I’m truly ‘home’ here at Creighton, with NeASFAA, and RMASFAA – and it’s because of all of you. For that, I thank you!

IMG_2226 Sarah

Sarah (Sell) Trausch was honored as the recipient of the Oscar R. ‘Jack’ Hendrix award in 2011.

Leave a Reply

