Thankful for RMASFAA

Is it just me, or is anyone else having a hard time realizing that Thanksgiving is THIS week…?!  Wow!  It seems like just days ago we were all together in Utah for our annual conference and I find myself struggling to believe that 2014 is almost over.    On my campus at Colorado State, a host of new initiatives for my office have made for a busier-than-usual fall semester – and in speaking with several RMASFAA colleagues, I know that it has been an equally crazy autumn for many campuses across our region.  If time truly does “fly when having fun”, we all must be having an absolute blast! 🙂

Despite not being able to wrap my head around the fact that this year is rapidly drawing to a close, the holidays are indeed upon us.   In this season of thanksgiving, I can’t help but pause and think of how immeasurably grateful I am for an association like RMASFAA.  For myself, it’s the wonderful colleagues and friends I’ve made through RMASFAA who help sustain me when the day-to-day busyness of our profession seems to border on “too much”.

As I sit here at home Sunday evening typing this blog post – sipping lukewarm coffee, listening to my dog snore in the background, and planning for the short workweek – I’m reminded of just how many ways I am thankful for RMASFAA and its members.

  • I am thankful for the incredible training opportunities RMASFAA provides.  Our region may be small in numbers, but the breadth and scope of expertise in our association is as vast as our geography.   Our conferences offer an exceptional training program with both regional and national best-practices perspectives.  And of course, RMASFAA’s Summer Institute is nationally-known, attracting attendees from across the country each June.
  • I am thankful for the mentoring that happens throughout our association.  Our award-winning Leadership Pipeline program is second-to-none, and speaking as a graduate of Leadership Pipeline, I can personally attest to the immense benefit of careful and considerate mentoring; I am a better aid administrator and a better person because of the outstanding mentors I have been gifted with in RMASFAA.
  • I am thankful for the friends I have made through RMASFAA.  So much more than just colleagues, I’ve been blessed with new friends with whom I can call on for guidance – or to just shoot the breeze – at any time.
  • As I begin my year as President-Elect, I am unbelievably thankful for the volunteers of this association; the number of folks who commit their valuable time and tremendous talent to RMASFAA is amazing.  As we finalize committees for 2015, I am reassured that we’re going to have a phenomenal year of RMASFAA programming.
  • RMASFAA is a LOT of FUN… and for that, I am VERY thankful.  We work hard, but we also play hard – and we laugh even harder.

Happiest of Thanksgivings to You and Yours!

Joe Biz Pic (2)

-Joe Donlay, RMASFAA President-Elect

Leave a Reply

