RMASFAA Diversity and Multicultural Committee: Diversity Digest

I am very thankful for the opportunity to have attended the RMASFAA Summer Institute. Although I have worked in higher education for a number of years, I have only been in financial aid for 5 years. I’ve been fortunate enough to work for a community college where I not only work closely with students, but I’ve had the opportunity to process and oversee the many aspects of financial aid such as loans, appeals, work-study, RTIV, verification and more. The minute I think I know everything about financial aid, I realize I have so much more to learn. The RMASFAA Summer Institute proved just that.  The amount of information that was presented and the many resources that are available is very much appreciated and needed. I still continue to review the notes I’ve taken and refer to the conference notebook. I left the conference with a wealth of knowledge and I was extremely excited to share with my co-workers about my experience and all that I had learned.

In addition, by meeting new people and being able to network with other counselors from different schools had a positive impact for me as a counselor. For, it is nice to be able to communicate with someone else who share  the same experiences.  Since the conference, I have kept in contact with some of those I met and we continue to work together, build ideas, and ask for advice or clarification regarding different processes in financial aid. I am extremely thankful for this experience as it has enhanced my knowledge of financial aid and the new connections that I’ve made are priceless. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Phebe L.

Phebe Lassiter, M.S.
Financial Aid Counselor
Community College of Aurora

Leave a Reply

